Defending against drunk driving charges for a second time

No matter what your criminal history includes, a drunk driving charge is serious. Whether it is your first offense or you have multiple DUIs on your record, you may benefit from confronting these charges with a strong defense. When you are facing drunk driving charges for a second time in Tennessee, the stakes are higher and your need for a strong defense is more crucial than ever.

The fact that you are facing these charges for a second time does not diminish your right to seek a positive outcome to your case. It is still possible to fight the charges against you, challenge the prosecution's case and work to mitigate the potential penalties you are facing.

What are you up against as a second-time offender?

As one would expect, the penalties increase in expense and severity with a second DUI in Tennessee. If convicted of this crime, you could face the following penalties:

  • Fines ranging from $600 to $3,500
  • Jail time for a period of at least 45 days, but up to 11 months and 29 days
  • Revocation of your license for a period of at least two years
  • Mandatory attendance in a drug and alcohol treatment program
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device

Drivers convicted of DUI for a second time could also face penalties that may include the forfeiture of their personal vehicle. They may also be required to pay restitution for any personal injury damages suffered by others if involved in an accident.

Building a strong defense

There is no one-size-fits-all solution to a criminal defense when facing drunk driving charges. The right approach for you depends on the factors of your individual case, but you may find that the following could help your defense strategy:

  • Challenging the results of any chemical test, including the accuracy of the breath testing apparatus
  • Questioning the legality of the traffic stop
  • Calling into question the officer's treatment of you, including any potential violation of your rights

A careful evaluation of your case will determine the right approach for you. Through your carefully constructed defense strategy, it may be possible to have second-time DUI charges reduced or dropped. It is beneficial to take quick action after an arrest and the filing of charges against you. You would be wise not to lose any time in seeking defense help, but to protect your interests and your future, even when charged with DUI for a second time.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For a Response

How Can We Help?

Tell Us About Your Situation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

202 West Main Street
Murfreesboro, TN 37130

Toll Free: 800-215-1081
Phone: 615-809-0023
Fax: 615-848-1658
Murfreesboro Law Office Map