Tennessee has drinking and driving laws that are similar to the laws in other states. Driving under the influence is illegal in the state. Although the state has a zero-tolerance law for minors, Tennessee does recognize that those under 21 may have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of up to .02 percent legally. However, those who have a BAC of .02 or higher while between the ages of 16 and 20 may lose their licenses for up to a year, be fined and may need to perform community service.
Unlike some other states, Tennessee does require jail time for all DUI offenders regardless of the number of offenses they've faced in the past. The minimum is 48 hours upon conviction, unless your BAC was .2 or higher. If it was .2 or higher, then you'll have to spend at least one week in jail. You may lose your license for up to a year and may be required to go to a drug and alcohol treatment program. Additionally, you'll have to pay a fine. Fines range between $350 and $1,500 depending on the case.
Second DUIs are considered even more serious, so the penalties are more significant. The minimum jail sentence is 45 days, and the fine rises to between $600 and $3,500. Your vehicle can be confiscated by police if this is your second DUI.
No matter how many times you've faced allegations of drunk driving, you need to focus on a defense. You can challenge the results of a breath or blood test, the reason for pulling over your vehicle and other aspects of the case to fight for your freedoms and to protect your reputation.
Source: FindLaw, "What Are the Tennessee DUI Laws?," accessed Oct. 17, 2017