Tennessee has very specific DUI laws that dictate what happens if you're caught driving under the influence. Did you know, though, that you can actually face a DUI or other charges if you appear or act intoxicated, even if you blood alcohol concentration (BAC) isn't above the legal limit of .08 percent? It's true, and it's called driving while impaired and can still get you into deep trouble.
Tennessee does require mandatory jail sentences for first-time offenders, which is a surprise to many. At the very least, anyone who is convicted of a DUI will receive 48 hours in jail. If your BAC is .20 percent or higher, that minimum rises to seven days. If a judge deems it appropriate, you could go to jail for up to 11 months and 29 days and have to pay a fine of up to $1,500.
In most cases, your license is revocable for up to one year on a first offense. You may also be required to go to a drug or alcohol treatment program, even if you don't believe you're an alcoholic or drug abuser.
If this is not your first DUI, prepare for more serious consequences. The minimum time you'll spend in jail is 45 days with a one-year maximum. There is also a mandatory fine of up to $3,500. Your vehicle could be confiscated, and you could lose your license for up to two years and be required to use an ignition interlock device.
Your attorney can help you protect yourself by making sure you're treated fairly. Our website has more on what to do if you're facing possible charges or potential conviction.