Waldron, Fann & Parsley, Attorneys at Law
Contact us for a Free Consultation 615-809-0023
Trusted Legal Representation Serving Middle Tennessee Since 1973

Drunk Driving Archives

DUI up 60 percent on Tennessee college campuses

Universities are a popular destination for DUI incidents to occur. Most students reach the legal drinking age during college and many attend parties that offer alcoholic beverages. Since this may be your first time trying these drinks, you may not have a set plan on how to get back to your room safely or you do not know how blood-alcohol concentration works.

Memorial Day weekend safety: Get a ride home

With multiple sobriety checkpoints planned, Memorial Day weekend is not the time to be drinking and driving. Heightened law enforcement efforts aim to reduce the overall number of dangerous drivers on the roads by stopping people as they pass through checkpoints. At least one has been reported, indicating that the Tennessee Highway Patrol will have a checkpoint after nightfall on May 25. Another unit from La Vergne plans to have field sobriety tests near International Boulevard on May 26.

Can a DUI only be for alcohol?

Drugs, like cocaine and marijuana, are involved in around 18 percent of all motor vehicle collisions leading to a driver's death. Interestingly, 2014 statistics reported that 10.1 million people reported that they had been driving while under the influence of drugs in that year. That statistic only looks at illicit drugs, not the potential for prescription medications in the blood, which could also lead to impairment in some cases.

Tennessee's DUI laws are harsh on first-time offenders

Tennessee has many DUI laws that could affect your case if you're caught driving drunk, drinking in a parked vehicle or even driving with an open container in your vehicle. Tennessee's laws are harsh, because the state does not want to see drivers intoxicated on its roadways.

Tennessee DUIs: A risk for all ages

Tennessee has strict DUI laws that may vary from laws in other states. Drinking and driving is known as driving under the influence in Tennessee. This is illegal if you are caught with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. The .08 percent limit is known as the per se limit, which means that it doesn't matter if you appear intoxicated or not; you'll still face a DUI.

Facing a DUI or impaired driving charge? Fight back

Tennessee has very specific DUI laws that dictate what happens if you're caught driving under the influence. Did you know, though, that you can actually face a DUI or other charges if you appear or act intoxicated, even if you blood alcohol concentration (BAC) isn't above the legal limit of .08 percent? It's true, and it's called driving while impaired and can still get you into deep trouble.

Tennessee's DUI laws are tough on drunk drivers

Tennessee has drinking and driving laws that are similar to the laws in other states. Driving under the influence is illegal in the state. Although the state has a zero-tolerance law for minors, Tennessee does recognize that those under 21 may have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of up to .02 percent legally. However, those who have a BAC of .02 or higher while between the ages of 16 and 20 may lose their licenses for up to a year, be fined and may need to perform community service.

What happens if you refuse a breath test?

You decided to go out for drinks with your friends, but you didn't drink much yourself. That's why you were surprised when an officer decided to pull you over. Initially, he said it was because you had a tail light out, but then he alleged he could smell alcohol. From there, an innocent stop turned to allegations that you'd been drinking.

  • The National Trial Lawyers | Top 40 under 40
  • NAFDD Superior DWI Attorney
  • NAFDD Superior DUI Attorney
  • NAFDD Superior OVI Attorney
  • RCCBA Rutherford and Cannon Co. Bar Association
  • Tennessee Association For Justice Member 2015- 2016
  • TBA Tennessee Bar Association