Tennessee has very specific DUI laws that dictate what happens if you're caught driving under the influence. Did you know, though, that you can actually face a DUI or other charges if you appear or act intoxicated, even if you blood alcohol concentration (BAC) isn't above the legal limit of .08 percent? It's true, and it's called driving while impaired and can still get you into deep trouble.
The holidays have a potential to be a dangerous time of year for drivers. It's normal for families and friends to get together for a few drinks, and that opens people up to increased risks.
Tennessee has drinking and driving laws that are similar to the laws in other states. Driving under the influence is illegal in the state. Although the state has a zero-tolerance law for minors, Tennessee does recognize that those under 21 may have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of up to .02 percent legally. However, those who have a BAC of .02 or higher while between the ages of 16 and 20 may lose their licenses for up to a year, be fined and may need to perform community service.
You decided to go out for drinks with your friends, but you didn't drink much yourself. That's why you were surprised when an officer decided to pull you over. Initially, he said it was because you had a tail light out, but then he alleged he could smell alcohol. From there, an innocent stop turned to allegations that you'd been drinking.
The Fourth of July is a great holiday where people celebrate the freedom and birth of a nation. Unfortunately, some people's celebrations get out of hand. That means it's likely that reckless, drunk drivers may be on the roads, and reckless boaters might be on the water.
When the police officer pulled you over, the last thing you expected was to actually be above the legal limit for alcohol. Surprisingly, the breathalyzer came back 0.09, high enough to lead to an arrest.
Technically, high school students aren't old enough to drink. In reality, many do at graduation parties in the spring. Parents are warned to talk to their kids about the dangers of drinking, especially when it comes to drinking and driving.
You're out drinking, and you know you've had too much to legally drive. You don't want to pay for a cab home, though, so you decide you'll just swing by the local all-night coffee shop, drink a cup of hot brewed coffee, and then get in your car. After all, you've heard that it helps you sober up faster than just waiting for the alcohol to leave your system.
It's a sinking feeling to be charged with DUI. What will happen to your license, your job and your reputation? Few charges feel as ironclad as the decimal-laden number that the breath test told to the officer.
You know that it's illegal to drive while under the influence, but it's important to look at a few specific ways that alcohol can impair your ability to drive. This can also help shed some light on why people are sometimes pulled over when they're not drunk. Five examples include: