Cocaine is illegal throughout the United States. As such, any drug offenses involving cocaine can be tried under federal law. Additionally, Tennessee has its own state laws that apply to drug offenses. The state laws criminalize selling, possessing or trafficking cocaine. It's a felony crime, and in Tennessee, that means you could end up in prison for up to 60 years if you're caught selling the illicit drug. The fine for selling cocaine can be up to $500,000.
Possessing or casually exchanging cocaine with others is a Class A misdemeanor. It is felony if the exchange takes place between an adult and minor while the adult is at least two years older than the minor. Subsequent offenses are also felonies.
Selling less than .5 g is a Class C felony, and that felony comes with a fine of up to $100,000. If you sell cocaine to a minor or person under 18 in a drug-free zone, you face a penalty one class higher than what would be otherwise required. For instance, if you faced a Class B felony, you'd now face a Class A felony.
What should you do if you're accused of a drug crime?
Any time you face a drug crime, time is not on your side. You need to begin defending yourself as soon as possible. If you don't, you could make mistakes that result in a conviction or facing heavier penalties than are necessary. You have a right to an attorney, and you should make sure you use that right, so you can protect yourself. Our site has more information.