Tennessee’s drunk driving laws are fairly strict, and even a single violation could cause you to lose your license. The state may revoke your license due to a DUI conviction or if you refuse to submit to a test for blood alcohol concentration.
Once you are eligible to apply for a reinstatement of your driver’s license, you have to pay certain fees.
Alcohol-related license revocation
According to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security, you may lose your license for one year simply by refusing to take a BAC test. Your first DUI conviction may also lead to a one-year license revocation, though you may apply for a restricted license if you meet the requirements. You may lose your license for two years after the second DUI conviction, and further convictions add more years to the license revocation time.
When you lose your license due to a DUI, you may have to participate in a drug and alcohol treatment program before you apply for reinstatement. You may also have to install an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle.
Fees for license reinstatement
Once you complete any required treatment programs and meet the time limit to reinstate your license, you have to pay a fee when you submit your application. If you want to reinstatement your license after refusing a BAC test, you need to pay a $100 reinstatement fee along with the standard driver’s license fee. You may also have other charges, such as a $75 charge for failure to surrender your license. For most other DUI offenses, the reinstatement fee is $100. You must pay $3 if the DUI occurred in Tennessee, and the standard license fee also applies.