What are the child car seat laws in Tennessee?

On Behalf of | Feb 20, 2022 | blog, Car Accidents |

Did you know that an officer can pull you over for seat belt or child restraint violations? They can and will if they see your child is not in the proper type of safety seat.

As a driver, the Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security explains you are responsible for all passengers under the age of 16. So, it is imperative you understand the child car seat laws.

Traditional car seat rules

Children who are under the age of three must ride in a traditional car seat. For children ages one to three who weigh over 20 pounds, the requirement is a forward-facing setup. For children under the age of one or who weigh less than 20 pounds, the seat must face the rear.

Booster seat rules

Children who are at least four years old and up to eight years old who are under 4 feet 9 inches in height must use a booster seat with a car seat belt restraint. Children who are between the ages of nine and 12 must use a booster if they are under 4 feet 9 inches tall. However, children who are age 13 or older are exempt and only required to use a regular seat belt.

Regardless of the law, you should always follow the instructions of the manufacturer. If the instructions go against the law, you may need to find an alternative car seat. Keep in mind that all passengers under the age of 15 must either use a seat belt or a car seat. Officers can and will pull you over and ticket you for children not properly restrained.